Skip to content

Two Sides – Why?

July 13, 2010

Two Sides – Why?

My fave  site ccmixter.org has a regular remix exercise called “Secret Mixter”.

Randomly and anonymously,  each participant is paired with another like a “secret santa”.

The results are often surprising and totally unexpected.

I was very pleased when I got Colin Mutchler as my Secret Mixter
His phrasing, lyrics  and style is very Bob Dylanish (if there is such a description).
Mykle provided the glue. I then sniffed it for an hour or two adding the sax and accents on the guitar and beats.
The hardest thing was maintaining Colin’s style while dumping the guy with guitar thing that Colin does so well.

Two Sides – Why?

In the multi-trans-new local spaces
we are speaking for more than two sides.
We got colourful faces
and virtual spaces that mix between truth and lies.

I wonder how I could I have been lost
couldn’t find my way
freedom comes from who we be
not what we say!
take your time
be OK
take your time

And I say
we got two sides believing that their all alone
while most of the people are  just trying to get home
we got two sides believing that their all alone
while most of the people are just trying to get along
(take your time)

And I am telling what I know
and I am singing what I see
and I see that
we got to do more than we’ve done before
cause we are
we are speaking for freedom today,
yes this is Independence Day
yes these are our Independence Days

and I wonder why
people are fighting?
Why?
For the right
to keep on remixing?
Why?
cause maybe they might,
they might retell my story
Why?
that’s alright with me
cause we got to keep on telling our stories.

I said –
we got two sides fighting about drugs on TV
while millions are dying from HIV
Two sides fighting about who owns the sea
while a new generation is just trying to live free.
Why? Why?
Take your time
Why?

In the multi-trans new local spaces
we are speaking for more than two sides.
We got colourful faces
and virtual spaces that mix between truth and lies.
yes we mix between wrong and right
yes we mix between black and white
and gay and straight
and left and right
and I wonder how I could have been lost
couldn’t find my way
freedom comes from who we be
not what we say
take your time
be Ok

And I say
we got two sides believing that their all alone
while most of the people just wanna have fun
we got two sides believing that their all alone
while most of the people are just trying to get along
Why? Why? Why?

Download this song

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

