Skip to content

“I am Stretched on your Grave”

July 13, 2010

“I am Stretched on your Grave”

Thank you Queenie for such a beautiful interpretation of one of my fav Sinead O’Connor songs.
I kept the original elements fairly in check, but couldn’t help myself to dust off the bongos and some assorted noises with the drum kit.
Added some more bass, mandolin and a distant sitar.

Quite a haunting lyric that I kept very upfront in the mix.

(Phillip King/Frank O’Connor adapted by Queeniemusic)

I Am Stretched on Your Grave

I am stretched on your grave and will lie there forever,
If your hands were in mine, I’d be sure they’d not sever,
My appletree, my brightness ‘tis time we were together,
For I smell of the earth and am worn by the weather.

When my family thinks that I’m safe in my bed,
From night until morning I am stretched at your head.
Calling out in to the air with tears hot and wild,
My grief for the boy that I loved as a child.

Do you remember the night we were lost?
In the shade of the blackthorn and the chill of the frost.
Thanks be to Jesus we did what was right
And my maidenhood still is my pillar of light.

The priests and the friars approach me in dread,
Because I still love you, my love, and you are dead.
And I  still would be your shelter through rain and through storm
For with you in the cold ground I can never sleep warm.

I am stretched on your grave and will lie there forever,
If your hands were in mine, I’d be sure they would not sever.
My appletree, my brightness ‘tis time we were together,
For I smell of all the earth and am worn by the weather.

Download this song

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ana María permalink
    November 17, 2011 8:36

    I love it, is my favorite version of this song, too bad I can’t download it 😦

Leave a Reply

